Homemade Dog Food Recipes: How to Formulate

Dog Food Matters

I have often said that formulating healthy homemade dog food recipes is difficult. That is why 95% of recipes available online or published are nutritionally inadequate. I would like to give you some insights into homemade dog food recipe formulation by walking you through the process I use for creating nutritionally balanced recipes. This requires that I have two sets of data available to me. The first is the USDA Database for the nutrient contents of food. The second is the National Research Council (NRC) nutritional guidelines for dogs and cats.

95% of recipes available online or published are nutritionally inadequate.

From the USDA database I am able to determine exactly how much of all 42 essential nutrients are available in any given amount of any food ingredient. The NRC guidelines make sure I choose the amount of that ingredient that meets the necessary daily requirements for dogs. With these tools I am ready to formulate a recipe.

  • How Much…

View original post 487 more words

Leave a Reply

