The move to Hong Kong

There was no way we would leave Mylo behind in the UK, so no matter how difficult (and expensive) the process was, I was determined to get it done.

The first thing you I needed to look at was the requirements of importing a dog into Hong Kong. A quick Google search bought me to the Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department (AFCD) of Hong Kong. Reading the website, I found out that UK was rated as a Grade 1 country for importing a dog into Hong Kong, which means less paperwork and, more importantly, if the paperwork is all present and correct there’s no quarantine period for Mylo.

Next up was the compliance terms which had to be met in full. So for Mylo, I had to pay attention to points: 1, 2, 3, 4 (thats a given really with all the tests and procedures later on), 9, 10 and 11.

About a week into the process, which included several very late nights communicating with the AFCD, I finally had to get help in to assist me in the whole process. I came across PBS on the internet and read some good reviews and contacted them the next day. To be honest, they were fantastic throughout; being very understanding and comforting, taking a lot of the paperwork and liaising with ACFD off my hands, and sending me emails to remind me when I should take Mylo for certain tests to get the required medical certificates.

With the correct paperwork, Mylo did not need a pet passport (which takes an even longer application time), and all it took was 2 vet visits, well 3 actually as I had to pick up the UK certified medical certificate on the last visit. With all this I was able to finally complete this form, except for the Airline Certificate as Mylo would get that on the actual flight.

I booked Mylo’s flight through PBS, all without hassle, but due to my oversight, Mylo was going to be on a different plane to mine as my flight did not take pets as manifest cargo. This in the end turned out to be a good thing; Mylo’s flight was 1 hour before mine and would arrive in Hong Kong 1 hour before me. By the time I had gone through customs, picked up my luggage and took a ride to the cargo terminal to pick Mylo up, he was still going through customs checks.

Next up was to find a suitable crate for the flight. Somehow I stumbled upon this:

Image

With the calculations being:

  A= length of animal from nose to root of tail
= height from ground to elbow joint
C = width across musters
= height of animal in standing position

The length of the kennel must be equal to A + 1/2 B.
The width of the kennel must be equal to C x 2.
The height of the kennel (top flat or arched) must be equal to D.

I found a crate that perfected matched Mylo’s requirements. I made sure there was 2 feeding troughs that was accessible from outside the crate without opening the crate door (requirement), bagged some kibble for Mylo’s flight, and a soft toy for him to play with. When we finally arrived at Heathrow’s cargo terminal, a PBS representative was there to meet us and guide us through the whole process. But then we hit a snag. Mylo’s crate was deemed too small, and in 20mins the PBS representative had to drive to the next town to get a larger crate and bring it back. And it meant extra money on the credit card.

After 16 hours, Mylo and I were finally reunited in the Hong Kong airport’s vet office, where he immediately proceeded to pee everywhere, he had held everything in for whole 16 hours! Bless him. At this point it was deemed that Mylo’s microchip was not international standards (even though I was told it was before) and had to have another one injected into the back of his neck.

And thats it. Mylo safely lands in Hong Kong!!!

One thought on “The move to Hong Kong

  1. I had the same problem with our chip in our cat. The cat originally came from the US and the Euro reader can’t read US chips. I’ll be willing to bet that HK chips are different again.

Leave a Reply

